(Video) The Outer Worlds – Official Announcement


Watch the official announcement trailer for The Outer Worlds, a new single-player first-person sci-fi RPG from Obsidian Entertainment and Private Division.

In The Outer Worlds, you awake from hibernation on a colonist ship that was lost in transit to Halcyon, the furthest colony from Earth located at the edge of the galaxy, only to find yourself in the midst of a deep conspiracy threatening to destroy it. As you explore the furthest reaches of space and encounter various factions, all vying for power, the character you decide to become will determine how this player-driven story unfolds. In the corporate equation for the colony, you are the unplanned variable.

0:01 [heavy breathing and loud footsteps]
0:12 [muffled knocking] Ah there you are?
0:13 Wondering what’s going on, eh?
0:15 One question first: Are you feeling anything that can be construed as explosive cell death?
0:20 No? Wonderful! Let’s get started.
0:26 [pod hatch opening]
0:30 [theme music begins]
0:33 Welcome to the edge of the galaxy. The frontier of space.
0:38 Well, at least it was until the corporations bought it, branded it, and started selling it at ludicrously inflated prices.
0:44 [door slides open]
0:46 And the rest of your fellow settlers? Abandoned on the edge of the colony.
0:50 I’d save them myself, but, eh, the board’s got a bounty on my head.
0:54 [gunshot]
0:55 So that’s why I thawed you out. You appear…capable.
0:59 [theme music intensifies]
1:01 Look, I get it.
1:02 [laser blasts]
1:03 Taking on corporations has left us with two choices; bad and worse.
1:08 [electrical charging]
1:09 But you have to choose
1:11 and you have to choose NOW!
1:12 [loud gunshot]
1:17 You know you didn’t have to shoot either one, right?
1:19 [woman gasping]
1:21 But it’s fine, I guess.
1:22 You just keep being you.
1:24 ['The Passenger' by Iggy Pop plays] From the original creators of Fallout
1:27 And the developers of Fallout: New Vegas [button mashing]
1:30 [laser blasts]
1:35 [alien roar]
1:36 [alien screeches]
1:42 [ship decelerating]
1:43 [door slams open]
1:46 [furiously pressing button]
1:47 In 2019
1:51 Welcome to the future
1:53 [metal hits metal]
1:54 Try not to break it
1:56 [ship blasting off]
2:01 [Spacer's Choice spokesman reading disclaimer]